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Retiree Concealed Firearms
207.1   PURPOSE AND SCOPE
The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the issuance, denial, suspension or
revocation of Havre de Grace Police Department identification cards under the Law Enforcement
Officers’ Safety Act (LEOSA) (18 USC § 926C).

207.2   POLICY
It is the policy of the Havre de Grace Police Department to provide identification cards to qualified
former or retired officers as provided in this policy.

207.3   LEOSA
The Chief of Police may issue an identification card for LEOSA purposes to any qualified former
officer of this department who (18 USC § 926C(c)):

(a) Separated from service in good standing from this department as an officer.

(b) Before such separation, had regular employment as a law enforcement officer for an
aggregate of 10 years or more or, if employed as a law enforcement officer for less
than 10 years, separated from service after completing any applicable probationary
period due to a service-connected disability as determined by this department.

(c) Has not been disqualified for reasons related to mental health.

(d) Has not entered into an agreement with this department where the
officer acknowledges that he/she is not qualified to receive a firearm qualification
certificate for reasons related to mental health.

(e) Is not prohibited by federal law from receiving or possessing a firearm.

207.3.1   LEOSA IDENTIFICATION CARD FORMAT
The LEOSA identification card should contain a photograph of the former officer and identify him/
her as having been employed as an officer.

If the Havre de Grace Police Department qualifies the former officer, the LEOSA identification card
or separate certification should indicate the date the former officer was tested or otherwise found
by the Department to meet the active duty standards for qualification to carry a firearm.

207.3.2   AUTHORIZATION
Any qualified former law enforcement officer, including a former officer of this department, may
carry a concealed firearm under 18 USC § 926C when he/she is:

(a) In possession of photographic identification that identifies him/her as having been
employed as a law enforcement officer, and one of the following:

1. An indication from the person’s former law enforcement agency that he/she has,
within the past year, been tested or otherwise found by the law enforcement
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agency to meet agency-established active duty standards for qualification in
firearms training to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm.

2. A certification, issued by either the state in which the person resides or by a
certified firearms instructor who is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification
test for active duty law enforcement officers within that state, indicating that the
person has, within the past year, been tested or otherwise found to meet the
standards established by the state or, if not applicable, the standards of any
agency in that state.

(b) Not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or
substance.

(c) Not prohibited by federal law from receiving a firearm.

(d) Not in a location prohibited by Maryland law or by a private person or entity on his/her
property if such prohibition is permitted by Maryland law.

207.4   FORMER OFFICER RESPONSIBILITIES
A former officer with a card issued under this policy shall immediately notify the Watch
Commander of his/her arrest or conviction in any jurisdiction, or that he/she is the subject of a
court order, in accordance with the Reporting of Arrests, Convictions and Court Orders Policy.

The retiree is responsible for obtaining the proper handgun training and qualification for active
law enforcement officers. The retiree may obtain handgun certification and a LEOSA certification
card from the MPTSC.

207.4.1   RESPONSIBILITIES UNDER LEOSA
In order to obtain or retain a LEOSA identification card, the former officer shall:

(a) Sign a waiver of liability of the Department for all acts taken related to carrying a
concealed firearm, acknowledging both his/her personal responsibility as a private
person for all acts taken when carrying a concealed firearm as permitted by LEOSA
and also that these acts were not taken as an employee or former employee of the
Department.

(b) Remain subject to all applicable Department policies and federal, state and local laws.

(c) Demonstrate good judgment and character commensurate with carrying a loaded and
concealed firearm.

(d) Successfully pass an annual criminal history background check indicating that he/she
is not prohibited by law from receiving or possessing a firearm.

(e) The cost of ammunition for training and qualification will be the responsibility of the
retiree.

207.5   FIREARM QUALIFICATIONS
The Rangemaster may provide former officers from this department an opportunity to qualify.
Written evidence of the qualification and the weapons used will be provided and will contain the
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date of the qualification. The Rangemaster will maintain a record of the qualifications and weapons
used.

207.6   MARYLAND RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER IDENTIFICATION CARD
The Chief of Police shall provide a retiring officer with an identification card within 45 days after
the officer’s retirement if the officer (Md. Code PS § 3-513):

(a) Retired in good standing for reasons other than mental instability.

(b) Before retirement, was certified by the Maryland Police Training and Standards
Commission (MPTSC), had statutory powers of arrest in Maryland and completed an
applicable probationary period.

(c) Pays a fee set by the Havre de Grace Police Department (not to exceed $20).

Upon request, any officer who retired prior to Oct. 1, 2015, shall be issued an identification card
if the criteria set forth above are satisfied.

207.6.1   MARYLAND RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER IDENTIFICATION CARD
FORMAT
A Maryland retired law enforcement officer identification card shall be in the form approved by the
MPTSC and include the information specified in Md. Code PS § 3-513.

207.7   DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION
A LEOSA identification card may be denied or revoked upon a showing of good cause as
determined by the Department. In the event that an identification card is denied, suspended or
revoked, the former officer may request a review by the Chief of Police. The decision of the Chief
of Police is final.


